Selected sacred music

Selected sacred music

Printed Music - 2012 | Latin
Rate this:
Book URL: These four sacred works by Alessandro Scarlatti display stylistic traits which, on the one hand, are derived from those of Palestrina and, on the other hand, show a particular attention to advanced expressive techniques. Although they are conservative in their scoring, being either a cappella or for voices with continuo, Scarlatti augments that basic texture with more heterogenous styles, especially in the Missa defunctorum and the Magnificat setting. This critical edition enriches our acquaintance with this repertoire, which has been too little explored by scholars and musicians. Contents Salve Regina Miserere Magnificat Missa defunctorum
Publisher: Middleton, Wis. : A-R Editions, c2012
ISBN: 9780895797421
Branch Call Number: M2 .R238 vol. 181
Characteristics: 1 score (xvi, 116 p., 5 p. of plates) : facsims. ; 31 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings


Find it at MPL

To Top