When Saint Francis Saved the Church

When Saint Francis Saved the Church

How A Converted Medieval Troubadour Created A Spiritual Vision for the Ages

Book - 2014
Rate this:
N When Saint Francis Saved the Church, popular historian Jon Sweeney presents an intriguing portrait of Francis beyond the readily familiar stories and images. In the tradition of Thomas Cahill's How the Irish Saved Civilization, Sweeney reveals how the saint became a hinge in the history of the Christian faith and shows how in just fourteen years -- from 1205 to 1219 -- the unconventional and stumbling wisdom of a converted troubadour changed the Church. Sweeney outlines Francis's revolutionary approach to friendship, "the other" (people at the margins), poverty, spirituality, care (for people, creatures, and the natural world), and death. This vibrant book presents the unsullied life and message of Francis in its essential details, offering a sweeping, informative, remarkable look at how Francis and his movement quite literally saved the Christian faith -- and continues to offer a spiritual vision with contemporary relevance.
Publisher: Notre Dame, Indiana : Ave Maria Press, Inc., [2014]
ISBN: 9781594714863
159471486X
Branch Call Number: BX4700.F6 S935 2014
Characteristics: x, 175 pages ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at MPL.

Try searching for When Saint Francis Saved the Church to see if MPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top