Orpheus ecclesiasticus

Orpheus ecclesiasticus

Printed Music - 2017 | Latin
Rate this:
When Giuseppe Antonio Bernabei (1649¿1732) arrived in Munich in 1677, he had already won a reputation in his native Rome as an eminent keyboard player and as a composer for church, chamber, and theater, having served for five years as maestro di cappella at San Luigi dei Francesi, a focal point of Roman musical life. In Munich he went on to compose operas and church music, including motets in stile antico, which earned praise from Padre Martini for contrapuntal artistry more than forty years after Bernabei¿s death. In 1698, Bernabei published a set of twelve trio sonatas, Orpheus ecclesiasticus, for two violins and continuo. The delightful music does make great technical demands of the performers, but this is richly compensated for by contrapuntal craftsmanship. Thematic coherence, continuity, and long-breathed structures are essential features of Bernabei¿s style.
Publisher: Middleton, Wisconsin : A-R Editions, [2017]
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780895798497
Branch Call Number: M2 .R238 vol. 195
Characteristics: 1 score (xii, 203 pages, 6 unnumbered pages) + 3 parts : facsimiles ; 31 cm
Additional Contributors: Nordbakke, Michael Wilhelm - Editor


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings


Find it at MPL

To Top